Pause -- essential for me, but does it work in co-op?

Engine, AI, scripting, that sort of thing.

Pause -- essential for me, but does it work in co-op?

PostPosted by Paronomasia » Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:02 am

For me, pausing a game is needed. Things come up that demands attention.

But how would it work if the game in single-player essentially runs a co-op session? :dunno:

I am no programmer, so while I am sure it can be done (just force it), it does not sound like an easy thing to do with more than one player. Sort of like sleeping in Minecraft -- everyone has to do it at the same time.

True, with co-op up to four it is of course "easier" to co-ordinate, but even so, I felt I wanted to ask how -- and if -- this would work.
This is a placeholder for something witty and clever that will both amuse and confuse you.
Paronomasia
Exploring New Fontiers
Exploring New Fontiers

Re: Pause -- essential for me, but does it work in co-op?

PostPosted by DWMagus » Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:29 am

I think you should still be able to pause co-op games. I can't remember where I saw it, but I recall being able to pause some multiplayer games.

Maybe allow voting or something like that so that you don't just get an immediate 'PAUSE' randomly? Something so that others know it's coming.

Of course, one would assume you coordinated first before you pause too, though.
Early Spring - 1055: Well, I made it to Boatmurdered, and my initial impressions can be set forth in three words: What. The. F*ck.
DWMagus
Explorer

PostPosted by Paronomasia » Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:35 am

Yeah, since it is a) co-op and b) emphasis on exploring I figure it should work, I just want to make sure it does make it in. :potato:
This is a placeholder for something witty and clever that will both amuse and confuse you.
Paronomasia
Exploring New Fontiers
Exploring New Fontiers

PostPosted by Railboy » Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:52 am

Very good question. It's a problem I haven't solved but I can tell you what I was thinking.